Trending Topics

Next match: West Ham v LFC [Premier League] Sat 27th Apr @ 12:30 pm
      London Stadium

Today is the 25th of April and on this date LFC's match record is P25 W9 D9 L7

Crunch time.

Read 13915 times
      Hollywood Balls
      • Forum Legend - Fagan
      • Started Topic

• 3,802 posts | 469 
      • PhD, School of Hard Knocks, University of Life.
      Crunch time.
      Apr 16, 2015 01:31:12 pm
      We are approaching the crucial phase of the season and Brendanā€™s career.
      The consensus seems to be that either we will end the season in 5th place with nothing or we will win the FA cup.

I am a fan of the manager, but, if the first of those options come to pass the owners will have to take a long hard look at the direction at which we are heading. As I have pointed out before we can reasonably expect to come fifth given the financial disparity we have with our rivals but the strategy we are pursuing is to punch above our weight.

Another season without winning anything will put the managerā€™s position under pressure. The football we are playing can be nice to watch, and at times explosive, however the mark that separates a good manager from an also-ran is the ability to drag the team over the winning line. We have not done that enough in the clutch matches or those against the top teams. The problem of our naĆÆve play remains our biggest issue.

As we know, itā€™s important to win minor competitions on the road towards winning the major ones. An FA cup victory would boost confidence throughout the entire team and give us a platform from which we could push on. That job starts with Villa on the 19th then is likely to conclude against Arsenal on the 30th May. Chances of success I would put at around 35% from this point.

But there is another, bigger prize.