Trending Topics

Next match: Fulham v LFC [Premier League] Sun 21st Apr @ 4:30 pm
      Craven Cottage

Today is the 19th of April and on this date LFC's match record is P32 W19 D8 L5

HEYSEL 30 YEARS: An Introduction. (TAW)

Read 9370 times
      CarterUSM
      • On Trial
      • Started Topic

• 1 posts |
      May 19, 2015 08:44:52 am
      It’s nearly 30 years to the day since the name of Liverpool FC, and the reputation of the city of Liverpool, was deeply tarnished by the appalling events in the Heysel Stadium. After all this time, I still find it hard to comprehend how such a shocking turn of events came to pass, especially given the generally good reputation of our fans beforehand.

Everyone knows what happened inside the stadium, and that has been discussed thoroughly elsewhere. What I’m still curious about, is how the events of the day were to lead to such a horrifying climax.

I should explain that at the time, I was an impoverished student living in a house without television and did not have regular access to newspapers (and consequently did not see/read many accounts of the immediate aftermath). I watched the game in the student union bar, and like everyone else was reduced to a state of numb shock.

I’ve read some accounts of the day’s events, most notably in two excellent books, From Where I Was Standing by Chris Rowland, and Far Foreign Land by Tony Evans (both of which are required reading for all LFC fans). Both tell their tales from different standpoints; whereas for Chris and his mates their trip to Brussels started out as a light-hearted jolly, the mood of Tony and his companions was very different. After having described how they were subjected to attacks from Roma fans the year before, he then goes on to describe his experiences on the day of the tragedy in what is one of the most shockingly honest narrative passages I have ever read.